Skip to content


Allocation Committee 

The allocation committee evaluates all quarterly allocation requests and makes recommendations on the amount to be awarded.  The committee meets during the month prior to the start of a new allocation quarter.

The current allocation committee members are

Dmitry Bedrov, Material Science

Jacob Hochhalter, Engineering

Julio Facelli, Biomedical Informatics

Ryan Steele, Chemistry

Adam Kochanski, Atmospheric Sciences

User Advisory Council

The User Advisory Council meets with various members of the CHPC staff monthly (the third Thursday of the month at 2pm). The role of the council is to discuss and provide input to CHPC policy, services, operations and future directions. 

Current members:

Jessica Swanson, Chemistry

Todd Harman, Mechanical Engineering

Carson Holt, UCGD

Randy Madsen, BMI

Tim Parnell, HCI

Thomas Reichler, Atmospheric Sciences

James Sutherland, Chemical Engineering

Jennifer Spinti, Chemical Engineering

Zach Gompert, USU

Protected Environment Policy & Allocation Committee

The newest CHPC advisory committee was established in Spring 2017.  This committee meet monthly (second Wednesday of the month) as the new PE was being provisioned.   The role of this committee is to:

  • give guidance into the policy and allocation decisions of the proposed instrument
  • provide input on the manner in which the resource expands in response to evolving research needs
  • govern the allocation of the resource not already dedicated to the major/minor users whose research is described in this proposal
  • decide on handling of use cases that do not fit in any of the existing components of the PE

In the summer of 2018, it moved to quarterly meetings, with the focus on reviewing PE allocation requests, as well as discussing any questions or concerns on policies for use of the PE.


Orly Alter, Bioengineering/SCI

Chris Butson, Bioengineering/Neurology/SCI

Thomas Cheatham, PI (ex-officio)

Julio Facelli, BMI

Cynthia Furse, ECE/VPR

Bryan Jones, Moran

Tim Parnell, HCI

Anita Orendt, CHPC (Chair)

Aaron Quinlan, Human Genetics

Last Updated: 10/13/21